Reitz Memorial speech team wins district title for third year

Members of the Memorial speech team who competed at the Hooser Heartland Districts Tournament championship in Indianapolis were Emma Payne, front row from left, Katelyn Fehrenbacher, Greta Diehl, Charlotte Fredrich, Reagan Engbers, Amanda Vollmer, Lillian Hogue, Elsie Brown, Blake Hershberger, second row from left, Jackson Memmer, Tyler Wilson, Nathan Raben, Luca Cirignano, Matteo Cirignano, Chris Sermersheim, Bella Eberhard, Coach Beth Browning, top row, from left, Coach Jessica Fehrenbacher and Coach Tony Fehrenbacher. Submitted photo

The Reitz Memorial High School speech team won the 2024 Hoosier Heartland Districts Tournament championship March 2 in Indianapolis. This was the school’s third consecutive district championship. Memorial set school records by winning three out of eight category championships and by qualifying five entries for the NSDA National Speech and Debate Tournament, which will be held June 16-21. Memorial senior Katelyn Fehrenbacher won the District Student of the Year Award. The district champions and national qualifiers were Fehrenbacher in U.S. Extemporaneous, Emma Payne in Humorous Interpretation and Amanda Vollmer in Dramatic Interpretation. National qualifiers who placed second in their category were Blake Hershberger and Jackson Memmer in Duo Interpretation and Chris Sermersheim in International Extemporaneous.