Diocese celebrates 2022 Bruté Society inductees

By Megan Erbacher

The Message assistant editor

Bishop Siegel, right, presents a Bruté Society certificate to inductees John and Kimberly Payne of St. Benedict Cathedral Parish in Evansville. The Message photos by Tim Lilley

Bishop Joseph M. Siegel honored the Diocese of Evansville’s new members of the Bruté Society by celebrating Mass and with an induction ceremony Nov. 6 at St. Benedict Cathedral in Evansville.

The Bruté Society annually recognizes individuals chosen by their parishes for their ongoing commitment to stewardship. It was established in 1990 as an official activity of the diocese, and it’s named for Servant of God Bishop Simon Bruté, who was appointed the first bishop of Vincennes in 1834. Membership in The Bruté Society is limited to laypersons who are registered members of a Diocesan parish.

Fourteen priests of the diocese concelebrated Mass with Bishop Siegel. Deacon David Rice assisted, and Diocesan Director of Worship Matt Miller served as Master of Ceremonies. 

Servers for the Mass were young men who participate in the Diocesan Vocations Office Savio program. They included Levi Bigge, Aiden Feherenbacher, Isaiah Schaefer, Evan Sexton and Zachary Schroeder.

Bruté Society inductees Bill and Jill Jackson, of Holy Rosary Parish in Evansville, offer the gifts to Bishop Siegel.

Bishop Siegel began his homily by noting how accurate the evening’s Responsorial Psalm was for the celebration. Psalm 84, “How lovely is your dwelling place, O Lord God of hosts!”

The bishop said Psalm 84 captured the spirit of the Mass, as we commemorated the dedication of St. Benedict Cathedral on the same day three years ago. He said it was providential that we also celebrated this year’s inductees into the Bruté Society on the Cathedral’s dedication anniversary.

During his homily, Bishop Siegel congratulated this year’s new members. He said we recognize these men and women from around the diocese who have committed their time, talent and energy to support the life and mission of the church through their parishes and the diocese.

Bishop Siegel said each honoree, in their own way, have strived to express their faith through devotion to prayer, in their loving service to others by generously supporting the ministry of their parish, especially through their witness to Christ in their homes, neighborhoods, workplaces and communities 

We also pause, Bishop Siegel said, to celebrate the Bruté Society members who are gone. They’re no longer with us, he said, but their memory remains.

In conclusion, Bishop Siegel said with God’s help, may we live out our mission by teaching his word, celebrating the sacraments, passing on the faith to the next generation and being of service to our brothers and sisters in Christ. He continued and said may we ensure that our Catholic faith makes a difference in our lives and the communities in which we live.

Matt Potter, recently retired diocesan director of stewardship, presented each candidate to Bishop Siegel for induction into the Bruté Society.

“These men and women have been nominated by their fellow parishioners, who regard them as outstanding models of Christian stewardship,” Potter said. “They all have a long history of giving generously of themselves to strengthen the work of the church within their parishes. They are known to be a people of deep faith, not of passive faith, but one which comes alive in their dedication to, participation in and support of the mission of the church, both local and universal.”

After Mass, all were invited to a reception in St. Benedict Cathedral School’s cafeteria.

For more information on the Brute Society, visit https://www.evdio.org/brute-society.html.

2022 Bruté Society Inductees

Following is a list of the 2022 inductees into the Diocese of Evansville Bruté Society. They appear in alphabetical order, by last names. Congratulations to all!

Susan Abbett, St. Joseph, Jasper; Doug and Linda Ackerman, Precious Blood, Jasper; Larry and Carolyn Adams, All Saints, Evansville; Eric and Julie Bassler, Our Lady of Hope, Washington; Dee Ann and Tim Bell, St. Joseph, Jasper; Carol Berg, Divine Mercy, St. Anthony; Matt and Jamie Beyer, Resurrection, Evansville; John Bieker, Divine Mercy, St. Anthony; Jan Boyd, St. Martin I, Chrisney; Shirley Brinkman, St. Mary, Huntingburg; Paul Brown, St. Francis Xavier, Vincennes; Stanley Budny, Holy Name of Jesus, Bloomfield;  Carol Burns, St. Benedict Cathedral, Evansville; Marie Cervone, Sts. Mary and John, Evansville; Justin and Shirley Clements, St. Boniface, Evansville; Mary Cullison, St. Philip Neri, Bicknell; 

Dan Deer, Sts. Peter and Paul, Haubstadt; Sylvia E. Deters, Holy Rosary, Evansville; Brett and Kendra Dewig, St. Joseph, Princeton; Leslie Doyle, St. John, Loogootee; James and Cathy Elliott, St. Joseph, Princeton; Brendan and Mary Kay Elpers, Saint Wendel, Evansville; Brenda Ferguson, St. Isidore, Celestine; Debby Ficklin, Sts. Peter and Paul, Petersburg; Matthew and Bridget Fleck, St. Mary, Ireland; Margaret Fleming, Christ the King, Ferdinand; Pam Freyberger, St. Joseph, Jasper; James Fuhs, St. Peter, Montgomery; Doris Harris, St. Mary, Ireland; Ray and Jane Herr, Saint Wendel, Evansville; Jim and Janice Herr, St. Joseph, Vanderburgh County; Mildred "Ann" Herzog, Holy Family, Jasper; Paul and Patricia Hirsch, Good Shepherd, Evansville; 

Bryan and Liz Hirsch, Holy Cross, Fort Branch; Richard and Diane Hopkins, St. John, Loogootee; Chad and Tammy Hurm, Precious Blood, Jasper; Bill and Jill Jackson, Holy Rosary, Evansville; Thomas and Deborah Kassenbrook, St. John the Evangelist, Daylight; Carroll Knight, Corpus Christi, Evansville; Tom Laughlin, St. Peter, Linton; David Lovell, St. Bernard, Rockport; Larry and Ruth Lutz, Corpus Christi, Evansville; Paul and Julie Malone, St Clement, Boonville; Jim and Lois Martin, St. John the Evangelist, Daylight; Nick and Ann Morgan, St. Mary, Sullivan; Robert and Bonnie Meadows, St. Mary, Ireland; Adrian and Cindy Morrison, St. Francis of Assisi, Dale; Jeff and Karen Mutschler, St. James, Haubstadt; John and Kimberly Payne, St. Benedict Cathedral, Evansville; Glenda and Eddie Reckelhoff, St. Isidore, Celestine; CJ Regin, Holy Rosary, Evansville; 

Jim and Barbara Roach, Annunciation, Evansville; Robert and Jo Ann Rybski, St. Francis Xavier, Vincennes; Will Saylor and Terry Neuendorf, St. Joan of Arc, Jasonville; Chris and Jane Scheu, St. Philip, Mt. Vernon; George and Elaine Schipp, Christ the King, Ferdinand; Debra Schmitt, Saint Francis Xavier, Poseyville; Herman and Cindy Schmitt, St. Joseph, Vanderburgh County; Bill and Lisa Schneider, Christ the King, Ferdinand; Jim and Kristine Schroeder, St. Boniface, Evansville; Bob and Bridget Seifert, St. Matthew, Mt. Vernon; Larry and Rita Sermersheim, St. Mary, Huntingburg; Diane Sievers, St. Francis Xavier, Vincennes; Wilma Spaulding, All Saints, Evansville; William and Angie Tempel, St. Francis of Assisi, Dale; 

Theresa Thieman, St. John the Baptist, Newburgh; In Memory of Dorothy Thornburg, Good Shepherd, Evansville; Sam and Sue Tieken, Holy Redeemer, Evansville; Mike and Jenny Wade, Our Lady of Hope, Washington; James Wallace, Sts. Peter and Paul, Haubstadt; Paul and Holly Watzlavik, St. John the Baptist, Newburgh; Garry Weber, Blessed Sacrament, Oakland City; Mike and Lisa Weber, St. Philip, Mt. Vernon; Edward J. and Rosetta "Rosie" Werner, Holy Family, Jasper; Pete and Sue Werner, St. Benedict Cathedral, Evansville; Bob and Mary Winnecke, Holy Redeemer, Evansville; Melvin and Terri Ziliak, St. Bernard, Fort Branch.